Joy of the Bridegroom

As the Father loved Me, I also have loved you; abide (live in) in My love. 10 If you keep My commandments, you will abide in My love…11 These things I have spoken to you, that My joy may remain in you, and that your joy may be full. (Jn. 15:9-11)

That My joy may remain in you – when the Holy Spirit releases Jesus’ joy is in us, we feel a confidence in God with a buoyant joy and a free spirit. These times of “inspiration” greatly change how we feel for a few hours. However this inspiration can be an ongoing grace. That your joy may be full – the “impartation” of Jesus’ joy to our emotions transforms our character (emotions make-up) which is consistently strengthened with joy.

The voice of the Bridegroom empowered John to experience joy in the wilderness:

The friend of the bridegroom…rejoices greatly because of the Bridegroom’s voice. Therefore this joy of mine is fulfilled…(Jn. 3:29)

[Jesus let me hear your voice, reveal the Bridegroom to me, let me rejoice in you]

The people of God can be empowered with joy in the wilderness like John the Baptist:

I will allure her, will bring her into the wilderness, and speak comfort to her.  I will give her …the Valley of Achor as a door of hope; she shall sing there…(Hos. 2:14-15)

[Allure me Jesus, bring me into the wilderness, speak comfort to my heart, cause me to sing]

Leave a Reply

